h1

2009: 15 of the Best. #11…

December 4, 2009

#11 – Regina Spektor – The Calculation

From: Far
Released: June 23, 2009
Label: Sire
Buy it: Here.

I’ve missed the whole Regina Spektor craze, I admit it and don’t apologize for it. There are some very smart women I’ve met who think she’s quite fantastic and given the amount of praise heaped upon her work by very reputable music publications, and well, hell, the fact that Jeff Lynne has offered his production skills to her songs, maybe it’s high time I sit down and give her music a good listen. The thing is, that day hasn’t come yet and I’m not entirely sure it will. Only one tune of hers has really grabbed my ears, and it is “The Calculation.” I first heard it while trolling through the TV on a Saturday night and finding that week’s episode of “Saturday Night Live” markedly (and maybe unsurprisingly) unfunny. It’s probably either sexist or snobbish of me to see a woman at a piano and think, “Oh no…” but this song truly blew me away. I think it’s a love song, but I’m not entirely sure. It’s hopeful but simultaneously non-celebratory (lyrically) at least. But with a catchy-as-hell chorus and a good pounding piano line, it doesn’t really take much more to get my vote. Someday soon I may be raving about all the music I haven’t yet heard from her (Far is her FIFTH album?!), but for the time being I’m quite content going, “Oh yeah, Regina Spektor. That ‘Calculation’ song is absolutely fantastic.”

Leave a Reply

