h1

2011: 15 of the Best. #15…

November 28, 2011

Alright folks, it’s that time of the year again. The Christmas mix is up and this blog gets (business) daily activity again for the next three weeks as we count down the 15 best tracks that made their way to your (or maybe more notably MY) speakers this year…

15. Blouse – Into Black

From: “Into Black” 7”
Released: March 29, 2011
Label: Captured Tracks
Buy it: Here.

I don’t know too much about Portland-based Blouse. A friend recommended this song to me a few months ago and I just liked it. Grabbed me very quickly and sustained my interest. Not enough to dive into Blouse full stop like I do other bands when I hear a song I like, but there’s something very hypnotizing and alluring about this track. Maybe it’s the bizarro-Joy Division artwork or the fact that the music seems to owe more than a bit to the 1980s, but something about this just made me think, “Yeah, that’s how you do it.” And living in an age where every fourth new band that comes out wants to revive 1980s music, I just find it hard to believe how fantastically most struggle to achieve it. A synthesizer line does not a 1980s song make. Not that it hurts, but you gotta use that airy guitar production to really make it fly. Kudos, Blouse. This song works for the ages.

2 comments

  1. Blouse? And I thought all the cool band names were already taken.


  2. Thanks for this post. I don’t keep up with current stuff (I lead a sheltered life, kind of.) but this countdown sure opened my ears to some great new product. Appreciate the time you took to do it and the pleasant presentation & Writing. You’re a Class Act.
    Mikelj



Leave a Reply

