h1

2011: 15 of the Best. #9…

December 6, 2011


09. Raphael Saadiq – Movin’ Down the Line

From: Stone Rollin’
Released: May 10, 2011
Label: Columbia
Buy it: Here.

I got on the Raphael Saadiq train a little late in the game. My buddy Umaar tried to push The Way I See It on me a couple years ago, insisting that it was right up my alley and that I would love it. As I’ve noted on this blog before, that’s a bad way to get me to try something, even if you are one of my best friends. It wasn’t until earlier this year that I finally got around to listening to The Way I See It and (you were right, Umaar) falling head over heels for it. This was also well timed because he released his follow-up, Stone Rollin’ , just a couple months later. Where The Way I See It banked more on mid-1960s soul grooves (with an affinity to Motown worn on its sleeve), Stone Rollin’ pushed Saadiq forward a few years into late 1960s/early 1970s soul and R&B territory. Great stuff to be sure, but I still prefer the early-to-mid 1960s callbacks, simply for their style and to-the-point attacks. Maybe no surprise then that I immediately called out “Movin’ Down the Line” as my favorite on this record as it bears more of a reference to The Way I See It’s vibe, albeit likely extended about 1:30 beyond what it would’ve been had it been included on the last album. Does that make sense? Whatever. It will make you dance and also wonder why more R&B artists don’t doff their cap to forebearers in this manner. I mean, why not? It’s so damn good.

2 comments

  1. That’s so smooth, it makes me want to scream, “Tony! Toni! Tone!”


  2. You know it.



Leave a Reply

