h1

2011: 15 of the Best. #4…

December 13, 2011


04. Liam Finn – Cold Feet

From: FOMO
Released: June 21, 2011
Label: Yep Roc
Buy it: Here.

Liam released his first solo album, I’ll Be Lighting, a few years ago and it was good in the same way that Julian Lennon’s Valotte was good—genuinely cool songs on it, but at the same time, I’m probably going to end up keeping his dad’s music in the car or on my playlist for the longer run. So when FOMO came out this summer, I noted it but never even bothered to check, because well … do you still listen to The Secret Value of Daydreaming? But then an old friend of mine (and fellow Neil-phile) pretty much demanded I listen to FOMO and “Cold Feet” in particular and … well, I owe Liam an apology for not caring earlier. “Cold Feet” is not only one of the finest pop songs of the year, but it stands right along side his father’s (and his uncle’s) best stuff. Sun-kissed but tinged with heartbreak, always the perfect balance. You’ll be singing along by the second chorus. Now I just find it categorically unfair that one family should have the write-catchy-songs gene pumping so prominently throughout its bloodstream. On a semi-related note, my girlfriend would like me to point out to readers that anyone with an affinity to stuffed toy seals (as in children’s toys), don’t watch the video.

2 comments

  1. Couldn’t agree more. I also like “Don’t Even Know Your Name.” Have you checked out Neil’s Pajama Club? Saw them in concert recently at Double Door. Picked up the signed vinyl.


  2. Haven’t heard Pajama Club stuff yet. Only found out about that Double Door show day of and couldn’t do it. But I look forward to checking it out.



Leave a Reply

