h1

2012: 15 of the Best. #13 …

December 5, 2012

13. Miles Kane – First of My Kind

From: “First of My Kind” EP
Released: April 21, 2012
Label: Sony
Buy it: Here

Only UK audiences got access to the actual vinyl for Record Store Day (what, being able to call all my favorite bands your own isn’t enough for you?), but at least we got to hear the next step in Miles continuing progress toward solo stardom. Of course, the next step kind of sound likes a step backward—the orchestrational swells behind this tune don’t sound too unlike the ones that fortified his and Alex Turner’s The Age of the Understatement a few years ago, but that was a very good album. So using past success as a template for future ideas isn’t a totally horrible idea (I am an Oasis fan, aren’t I?), and when it comes down to it, the worst thing I can say about this is that it’s very good, but not great. I can say a lot worse about other songs I’ve heard this year.

Official video:

Leave a Reply

