h1

2012: 15 of the Best. #9 …

December 11, 2012

sk

9. Paul Weller – That Dangerous Age

From: Sonik Kicks
Released: March 27, 2012
Label: Island/Yep Roc
Buy it: Here

If you’re a traditionalist Weller fan that’s only found things here and there to like on 22 Dreams and Wake Up the Nation, this year’s Sonik Kicks probably didn’t bring you back to full-throatedly singing the man’s praises. That said, Weller’s been getting crazy amounts critical acclaim for those past two albums, so it’s logical that he’d stick to the “We’ll maybe put a proper song here, but some computer blips here, put an instrumental loop here and there, and I’ll freestyle sing over a bit of it and we’ve got the album” formula. Is it better than the stuff he was doing in the 1990s? I don’t think so, but hey, Paul Weller doesn’t do it to appease me or you, really. He does what he wants and really, he always has. Maybe now I know what hardcore Jam fans felt like when he put out the first Style Council EP. Nevertheless, there’s been something on each of the last three albums to make me go “The guy can still write a tune.” This time around it’s the early Who/Kinks pastiche “That Dangerous Age.” Apparently inspired by a recent review that suggested he was at that “dangerous age” where older dudes make wild attempts to stay relevant, he turned the criticism around and fired this back at all of us. Touche, sir. We should’ve seen that coming from the guy who wrote “Has My Fire Really Gone Out?”  This is as danceable and exciting as “I Can’t Explain,” which is more than I can say for a good chunk of Sonik Kicks. But I’ll take my pleasures when I can get them.

Official video:

Leave a Reply

